Providing legal excellence for over 65 years in Kentucky

How is a liquor license secured in Lexington, KY?

by | Aug 1, 2023 | Articles

If a person wishes to sell alcohol of any kind within the borders of the state of Kentucky, he or she must be properly licensed to do so. Licensing is handled at the state and local levels. In Lexington, both a state license and local license are required to sell alcoholic beverages. People wanting to get a license must meet all requirements and complete the application process.

Application process

According to the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government, people need to begin by filling out applications with the Lexington Police Department and the Kentucky Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control. Applications can be obtained online or through contacting each agency. Both applications must be filed and approved or a person could face legal issues for selling alcohol unlicensed.

The applications must be filled out completely. This also includes paying a fee and attaching any required paperwork. For the local application, an inspection form must be filled that is signed by someone from the Division of Planning and the Division of Revenue, along with representatives from the Environment Health Services, the Fire Prevention Bureau and the Division of Building Inspection.

Additional paperwork that must be submitted with the application includes a floor plan or diagram of the structure where the alcohol will be sold. This includes all structures and parking on the property. Copies of the driver’s license of each responsible person must also be included so a background check may be conducted. Finally, a person must submit proof of completion of beverage service training in order to qualify for a license.


There are restrictions on who can qualify for a liquor license. The Kentucky Legislature explains a person must be a legal U.S. citizen who is at least 21 years old. The person must also have had an established legal residence within the state for at least one year.

He or she must not have a felony conviction within the last five years or have been released from probation, parole or prison in the last five years for such a conviction. In addition, any misdemeanor convictions involving controlled substances or attributed to alcohol use within the last two years will make a person ineligible for a license. Finally, a person cannot have had a license revoked within the past two years or have any conviction for a violation in relation to a liquor license in the past two years.

Selling alcohol requires being responsible for following the laws set by local and state governments. If you are considering getting a liquor license, you may want to contact an attorney for advice and assistance with the application process.